that secret that you know;

Pitchfork: So what are some of your favorite quotes?

JV: Oh man, I don’t know. I’d have to think about it, but I was listening to this Johnny Cash song today that Tom Waits wrote for him– I think that’s the story. For some reason it’s a thing that sticks in my brain. He’s describing this scene where he sees all these almost biblical images happening kind of in this burrow where this biblical train runs through this yard. The song goes, “I saw Judas Iscariot carrying John Wilkes Booth down there by the train” and for some reason when Johnny Cash is singing that…

I have that written out. I thought that was an image I had to put in my pocket and keep with me. I’m not exactly sure why. It’s not that I need to remember it, because I won’t forget those kind of things, but I just want to write them down and look at them. It’s almost like when things like music come out and you’re listening to a song and you have experiences with art or phenomena that supersede your simple relationship with them as just a piece of art. They’re more than that. That’s just what those quotes are for me. They’re big, they’re important.

– Justin Vernon of Bon Iver

The interview done by Pitchfork can be found over here.

4 responses to “that secret that you know;

  1. “…you have experiences with art or phenomena that supersede your simple relationship with them…” This is so true! Thank you for sharing and turning me on to new beautiful music.

    Love

    • Wow! Thank you for that truly great comment! We hope that you stick around and check back often because we’re here for readers like you! 🙂 We hope you subscribe and feel free to comment at any time – your thoughts and reactions are what matter!

      Sincerely,
      Your neighborhood friendly wolf and sheep

Leave a Reply

