The Tallest Man on Earth – The Wild Hunt;

I will be honest here and admit that my first experience with a Tallest Man on Earth song did not leave the two of us floating off together into musical adoration. It took me a few listens of Shallow Grave to get used to and fully appreciate Sweden’s own, Kristian Matsson’s vocal approach to his music. At some point in the last two years, however, Shallow Grave and my iTunes Library have parted ways and The Tallest Man on Earth became nothing but a tall memory. Until recently, when Matsson’s name started popping up among the fields of the internet while looking for music to harvest so, I went ahead and cultivated his latest, The Wild Hunt.

The Wild Hunt is a refreshing descent into the land of modern day folk music. The album as a whole brings forth an interesting balance between the strumming and plucking of a sweet acoustic guitar (at times, even a banjo or a piano!) and Matsson’s one of a kind, twangy vocals. One of Matsson’s greatest talents, is his ability to intertwine such immense detail in smart, frank lyrics. The Wild Hunt is an album of layers, waiting to be dissected but it also stands as an album to enjoy – especially on a beautiful day – for, it carries itself through the speakers like a gentle, calming breeze.

And I will sleep out in the glade just by the giant tree
Just to be closer when my spirit’s pulled away
I left a nervous little boy out on the trail today
He’s just a mortal to the shoutin’ cavalcade
I left my heart to the wild hunt a-comin
I live until the call
And I plan to be forgotten when I’m gone
Yes I’ll be leavin in the fall


The Wild Hunt

And now spikes will keep on falling from the heavens to the floor
The future was our skin and now we don’t dream anymore
No, we don’t dream anymore
Like a house made from spider webs and the clouds rolling in
I bet this mighty river’s both my savior and my sin
Oh, my savior and my sin


Love Is All

Also, take a moment to check out this minimally, delightful video of Matsson performing one of the best covers of Jackson Browne’s These Days for the fabulous La Blogotheque. Watching him in this video shows how effortlessly music escapes this man and just how much he enjoys the process of it all.

Download Matsson’s cover of ‘These Days’ here.

The Tallest Man On Earth’s Myspace
Blogotheque’s feature of The Tallest Man on Earth

3 responses to “The Tallest Man on Earth – The Wild Hunt;

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Tallest Man on Earth – The Wild Hunt; « pick apart the past -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Howard Steven Friedman: World's Tallest Building Back Home in the … | Consolidation Finance Wisdom

  3. Pingback: Download The Wild Hunt DVDRip | Watch Movies Online Streaming

Leave a Reply

