All Get Out; A band “with fragile souls”

I first stumbled upon All Get Out a few months ago, and one of my first reactions was, “Woah, they sound a bit like Manchester Orchestra.” Later, I found out that they are actually signed with MO’s label, Favorite Gentlemen (I guess they don’t like the Canadian way of spelling favourite, eh?), along with MO, Kevin Devine, Right Away Great Captain, Gobotron, and Harrison Hudson. Even though this band may perhaps be wearing their influences on their sleeves, they at the same time have created their own sound that makes you say “Oh, this song is All Get Out.”

One of the things I look for in bands/musicians is if they have the ability to go from high to low and back again without a flaw and keeping with their own style. In fact, that is probably my biggest subconscious criteria for liking a band or not. I am attracted to bands that can try new things and sound flawless doing it, with each album developing and growing from the previous seed that was planted. While no band is flawless (there’s always that Vices, right?), all my favorite ones (in my opinion) are pretty damn close. All Get Out can go from the energetic and exciting Water and God, to the heartbreakingly raw sound of Time and Place, to the breathtakingly beautiful Three More, I Guess, which ends with a graceful abruptness that leaves you hanging (a tease, if you will) and screaming inside for more, more, more (a personal favourite… seriously, just listen to the beautiful piano and the way the hauntingly desperate two voices make a perfect duet…)

Without sounding like an English major, I’d like to propose that All Get Out’s lyrics have a dominant theme revolving around willingly leaving home and unwillingly leaving love, starting new lives, leaving troubles behind, and coming back to them again. Daytrotter, who calls them “a South Carolinian band with fragile souls,” have had All Get Out in their studio twice already. Well, I say that Daytrotter is right, and that All Get Out writes their lyrics with the blood of the heart that was twisted and yanked out just to get to the truth.

Still, despite all the troubles their songs revolve around, it seems that these men never lose sight of what they were put on this earth to do – even if they’re not sure of it quite yet. But for now, making music is just fine.

And that’s just what I think. What do you think?

Water and God
https://dl-web.dropbox.com/get/Public/03%20Water%20and%20God.mp3?w=ba31a41a

Time can make a change/Sometimes harder times reflect nothing about the lives we lead/And we can play this game all night/Just realize I’m living/I’m learning/I’m hurting/I’m thinking all the time


Three More, I guess

I laugh out loud, but nothing’s funny at all/I can stand 40 days in the rain/To tell you that I still feel the same/If there’s no way to say the time is served/Then there’s no easy way out of this

Time and Place, Daytrotter session
https://dl-web.dropbox.com/get/Public/01%20Time%20And%20Place.mp3?w=f695dc83

I found peace through a small vessel/Five foot tall and brilliant speed/I felt love in her eyes and hate in my heart for the man that I might be…./Time and place is a hell of a way to put a grown man on his knees

All Get Out’s Myspace
Favorite Gentlemen
Daytrotter session 1
Daytrotter session 2
Photo by Jeremiah Edmond, taken from AGO’s myspace

One response to “All Get Out; A band “with fragile souls”

  1. Pingback: Kevin Devine; She Stayed As A Stream « pick apart the past

Leave a Reply

